top of page

Jerry Goelz Memorial Award

The Jerry Goelz Memorial Award is presented annually to the skater that best serves our club, not only with their voice but with their heart.  The recipient embodies what Jerry stood for, namely that actions speak louder than words.  This athlete demonstrates that hard work and dedication pay off not only for the individual but for the group.  Encouragement and support for fellow skaters are actions that Jerry embraced, and this BSC athlete exemplifies.

The award will be presented annually at the club's end-of-season party and awards ceremony. The recipient will be determined by a majority vote of the BSC coaching staff. The recipient will receive an award certificate and recognition on the club's website.

Jerry Goelz
February 14, 2017, at age 76

BSC group picture.jpg

2009 BSC group picture

Jerry is back row center, in the red and white jacket.

Jerry Goelz.JPG

Jerry Goelz passed away on February 14th at the age of 76. It is not an exaggeration to say that without Jerry, the Buffalo Speedskating Club would not exist. When interest in Speedskating waned in the 60's 70's and 80's, Jerry was instrumental in keeping what was then known as the Niagara Frontier Speed Skating Club going. Jerry was a club coach for many years, and coached his two daughters, Wendy and Cory to National and World levels.

Jerry last skated with the club in 2011. Those of us who had the pleasure of knowing and skating with Jerry miss him. Indeed, the Buffalo Speedskating Club and the greater Speedskating community lost a good friend and coach.

Two wonderful Buffalo News articles about Jerry and his daughters Wendy and Cory. The first one is from 1993 and the second from 1997.


Tonawanda Speedskater Hopes To Celebrate Later (PDF)


Speed Skater Tries To Reach Olympic Velocity (PDF)

A Buffalo News article from 1999 advertising Speed Skating Lessons. Jerry and his daughter Wendy were the coaches.


Have A Need For Speed... (PDF)

Award Recipients

2017 - Meena Rose

2018 - Mary Miller

2019 - Gabe Hasselback

2020 - Emma Lipa

2021 - Craig Pielechowski

2022 - Sean Lippa

bottom of page